Music interview: Chloe Castro

Every Monday we will be bringing you interviews with unsigned UK or Ireland artists for Independent Music Monday. Recently we caught up with unsigned County Durham based singer Chloe Castro to find out more…

Where are you from and how did you first get into music?
I was born in London but spent the first 12 years of my life moving around a fair bit from Brazil to France to Wales. I am now based in County Durham up in the North East of England where I spent my teenage years.

Who were your musical influences when you were growing up and who are your influences now?
Amy Winehouse has always been my favourite voice. As I got more into music (especially rap/hip-hop and R&B), I started developing my sound whilst drawing on inspiration from my favourite artists; Frank Ocean, Col3trane, Bryson Tiller, Jessie Reyez, Chance the Rapper, 6lack, Kendrick and so many other legends that I’ve learnt from.

How would you describe your sound?
Some kind of new R&B/Trap-Soul bedroom studio vibe type sound.

What is your latest release called and what was the influence behind it?
My latest single is called ‘She’. It’s been out around two weeks now and it’s super weird trying to explain what it’s about when I get asked. I wrote it around 3 years ago and suppose I was just writing about my environment which involved some toxic people I had found myself in association with. For no reason other than creativity I analysed some of their behaviours (I guess I also wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt), I put myself in their shoes and explored their emotions. I came out with a song about an extremely twisted love triangle of infatuation and infidelity that sounds like a love song on the surface.

What’s your local music scene like?
The local music scene is pretty good in terms of talent. I feel like no one round here ever gets a fair shot at being heard though as we’re so far up the country and away from everything! Especially where I live in Spennymoor. There’s definitely some rough diamonds around though, you just gotta find them. There’s a great folk and pop punk rock scene here but I am yet to discover a proper R&B/Hip-Hop/Rap scene that aligns itself with my sound.

What do you have planned for the next 12 months?
Over the next 12 months I plan to just be releasing as much good music as possible and connecting with as many people as possible. I’ve got a new single coming out mid-September as part of my debut EP which is set for release a little later in October. I’m always writing and so just working towards the next project in the hopes of dropping some bangers in 2021 and maybe even getting to perform live again!

Is there anyone you’d love to collaborate with?
Yes. Frank Ocean. Haha! So many legends I would be honoured to collaborate with; Kendrick Lamar would be sick. But Col3trane would probably be my top pick. He’s got some amazing and intriguing melodies and flows that I’d love to work with.

Any funny stories surrounding your live performances?
Nothing too crazy, just the usual clumsy slip-ups and everything going wrong!

What is the one thing that you want readers to know about you?
I guess I just want people to know me for my music. I want them to know that I’m just all about connecting with others and putting my everything into making music to help myself and others cope with the harsh reality that is life.

You can find out more about Chloe on her website or via Apple Music, Facebook, Instagram, SoundCloud, Spotify, Twitter or YouTube. You can find all of the platforms for ‘She’ here.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑